[Skip to content]

Our values: Care with compassion, Respect and dignity, Striving to excel, Professional standards, Working together
Darent Valley Hospital - About us
About Us Image

About us

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust runs services at Darent Valley Hospital, Queen Mary's Hospital, Erith & District Hospital and Elm Court (Priory Mews). 


Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust (the Trust) was legally established on 1st November 1993, and is based at Darent Valley Hospital, in Dartford, Kent. The Trust serves a population of cira 350,000 people, a population that is both ageing and growing, especially with the proposed Ebbsfleet development. The Trust prides itself on high quality innovative standards of care. 

Darent Valley Hospital

The hospital opened in September 2000 and now has 481 inpatient beds and specialties that include day-care surgery, general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, cardiology, maternity and general medicine. The hospital building is run as part of a Private Finance Initiative (PFI). This means the building is owned by The Hospital Company (Dartford) Limited, a private sector company, and the Trust leases the building. Darent Valley Hospital is located on the eastern outskirts of Dartford, and has excellent road and rail links to Kent, South East London and the rest of the South East of England. 

Queen Mary's Hospital

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust took over the running of certain services on 1st October 2013 at Queen Mary's Hospital.

Erith & District Hospital

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust took over the running of services on 1st October 2013 at Erith and District Hospital

Elm Court (Priory Mews)

Patient who meet the necessary criteria and have completed their acute phase of care will recuperate in Elm Court at Priory Mews. The 39 beds at Elm Court provides a more appropriate environment for those ready to leave acute care. Elm Court is operated independently of Priory Mews and is managed by Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust staff.

The Trust works in partnership with the NHS South East Coast (Strategic Health Authority), NHS West Kent (Primary Care Trust/PCT), NHS Medway (PCT), Bexley Care Trust (PCT), Kent County Council, Social Services and its (PFI) Partners to ensure that the best possible care is provided, not just in hospital but also throughout the local health economy.    


Photograph of the CHKS 2013 Presentation

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust and staff members have won many awards. To find out about them please visit our awards and recognition webpage.

Find out more

Equality and Diversity

Equality and Diversity

Equality, diversity and human rights is an important part of our everyday lives. We provide staff at all levels  advice, guidance and tools to embed equality, diversity and human rights into their roles. 

For more information